2012 Award Winners

Congratulations to the Thomson Reuters Accelus 8th Annual Compliance Awards Winners. Their awards recognise the genuine difference they have made to the compliance industry.

Sandro Buttaci Memorial Award for the 2012 Young Compliance Officer of the Year

Winner: Kuba Kiedrowski, Senior Compliance Officer, Regulatory Monitoring, EMEA Compliance, Citi


  • Valeriya Evseeva, AML Compliance Officer, Renaissance Capital
  • Josephine Nzuruba, Compliance Officer, GFI Group
  • James Sherry, Compliance Analyst, Hermes Fund Managers
  • Daniel Tannebaum, Head of Compliance, Travelex

2012 Compliance Officer of the Year

Winner: Robin O'Donnell, Head of Risk and Compliance, Numis Securities


  • Andreas Franz, Vice President, Goldman Sachs Asset Management
  • James Lovatt, Compliance Officer, Investec
  • Ross Moody, Compliance Officer, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
  • Kyp Zoumidou, Head of Compliance UK & Europe, IG

2012 Chief Compliance Officer of the Year

Winner: Pratap Thakkar, Head of EMEA Compliance, GFI Group


  • Sam Broadhead, Chief Compliance Officer, Wye Tree
  • Tui Iti, Risk and Compliance Director, Ogier
  • Duncan Taylor, Head of Compliance, Quilter

2012 Money Laundering Reporting Officer of the Year

Winner: Graham Hooper, Director of Financial Crime, Lloyds Banking Group


  • Chris Oldland, MLRO, Zurich Assurance Co Ltd
  • Peter O'Sullivan, MLRO, LV
  • Leanard Philip, Deputy MLRO, Bank of New York Mellon
  • Sarah Sarre, Compliance Officer/MLRO, Ogier, Guernsey

2012 Head of Anti-Money Laundering and Fraud Prevention of the Year

Winner: Gary Parkin, Chief Financial Crime & Regional Sanctions Officer, Europe, Chartis Insurance


  • Stephen Lock, Head of Group Financial Crime, Old Mutual Group
  • Andy Pryke, Group Head of Risk Management, Ogier

2012 Compliance Personality of the Year

Winner: Branko Bjelobaba, Managing Director, Branko Ltd


  • Mathew Beale, Managing Director, Comsure
  • Stephen Coles, Head of Compliance, Triland Metals Limited
  • Kate Taft, Compliance Officer/MLRO, Ogier, Cayman
  • Geoff Walsh, Managing Director, AFME

2012 Most Effective Compliance Training at a Regulated Firm

Winner: Richard Wall, Head of Enhanced Due Diligence, Credit Agricole CIB


  • Lorraine Fiander-Hill, Compliance Training and Policy Manager, Ogier
  • Taylor Wessing Risk Management Team, Taylor Wessing

2012 Outstanding Long-Term Service to the Compliance Industry

Winner: Rick Fischer, Partner, Morrison & Foerster LLP


  • Richard Eagle, Director, Complyport Ltd
  • Peter Haines, Compliance Consultant

Service Awards

2012 Compliance Innovator of the Year

Winner: The Co-Operative Banking Group


  • Comsure
  • Royal Bank of Scotland
  • UK General Insurance Group
  • Deutsche Bank
  • Huntswood

2012 Best Regulatory Law Firm or Lawyer of the Year

Winner: Stephenson Harwood LLP


  • Ashurst
  • Gibson Dunn
  • Morrison & Foerster LLP
  • Taylor Wessing

2012 Best Consulting Firm of the Year

Winner: Complyport


  • The Consulting Consortium
  • Huntswood
  • The IMS Group
  • Investit
  • NRS Regulatory Services Ltd